Srupen

There was a peculiar practice in our school. Everytime we went to a new class, or a new teacher came to teach us, they would ask us our names, and then tell us the meanings. Srupen didn’t particularly like these sessions.

Not only did no teacher know his name, they kept making random guesses, and asking him what it meant, as if he should know. It was not until another guy named Sakora joined the class, that the pressure eased on Srupen. His name, of course, led to others teasing him with names of a sister of a particular demon. Which of course, led to a fight later on.

Srupen was a smart guy. He managed to come within the Top 10 of the class, but that did not mean he was your typical teacher’s pet. In a school where talking/thinking/discussing about films was taboo, Srupen was our own Roger Ebert. I remember him explaining the stories of films like ‘Nuvvu Naku Nachav’ and ‘Kushi’, in vivid detail.

Srupen had some problem with his teeth and had to visit the dentist every two months, which meant he could go home. He would watch the latest movies, and come back and narrate the stories to us, in Dolby Digital, and Technicolor.

We were roommates in Class Nine, and it was one of the best rooms I have been a part of. Srupen had gone home for one of his dentist check ups, and returned with a stack of Filmfares and Stardusts. ‘Kaho Na Pyar Hai’ had just released, and I got a chance to spend some intimate moments with Amisha Patel, huddled up on top of the cupboards, bunking the evening prayers.

He also brought with him some audio cassettes, and we would listen to songs from ‘Nuvvostavani’ in the night after everyone had slept off. Eventually we got busted, whacked, and informed that there was no way they were going to give us a seat in the school again.

Srupen was clear he did not want to come back to the school and so, was hardly bothered about it all. Even though he did well in the exams, he found time to play cricket before the exam, and cut a cake to celebrate 100 days of ‘Kushi’.

He also had a temper and got easily irritated. When we saw him walking in the corridor, me and KSS would call out to him:

“Sru-pen”, and when he’d turn, we’d say:

“Red Pen”, or “Blue Pen” and run away. This pissed him off no end, and he would chase us.

After we passed out, I barely saw him. He went on to study in BITS Pilani, and then went to the US to do his masters. On his return, he would give detailed accounts of his trips to strip joints, much to the agony of the others, who relied on the internet!!

On Sunday, he died in a car crash.

Just like that.

I wish I had spoken to him more when he had called. I wish I had told him what an awesome person he was, and that I didn’t really mean it when I used to tease him. I wish we had taken more pictures, and I wish he was still there so I could comment on his pictures on Facebook.

I think its times like these when you realise that all that we crave and strive for, could vanish, just like that. That people around us won’t be there forever.

I’m sure you are having fun up there, buddy. Just a matter of time, we guys will be joining you soon.

9 thoughts on “Srupen

  1. lovely article……really sad to hear that he passed away…..let his soul rest in peace……oh god take care of his family

    Like

  2. I was in my 7th class… and it was the time when each guy thought they were the dude.. And a trend in those times was to stop talking to the guy with whom you have a fight. Further on, people didnt touch anything related to the guy with whom he was not talking.. his bag, soap, anything for the matter… And every body else tried to make you touch him and so on and so forth…

    And it was a day i had a fight with Srupen and as usual I decided to stop talking to him. I avoided everywhere, in the corridors, classes, between lunch, dinner, prayers. He was sort of annoyed with it but did not show it out in an obvious manner. And some time while this was on, one day I finished dinner early (earlier than others)and was up in the dormitory. I was on a bed pile sleeping. Srupen entered the dormitory. I turned my face towards the wall. He came straight to me and said “Sorry. Before we fought we were not the best of friends, but we were just friends. Let it be atleast to that. Its you wish after that to speak to me or not.”

    Dont remember having a fight with him after that….

    Like

  3. Nice article dude.
    Had just spoken to him a few months back and he was damn excited about his MS and getting a job.
    Regarding the meaning of names thing..to some extent the teachers did not know what even Sumit meant. I remember Shashi maam (who later graduated to an ‘aunty’) asking him if it meant the brand name of a mixer/ grinder

    Like

  4. Yaah… i was Srupen’s roomate in 8th, were he and Victory James used to bully me, he was a fun & god knows how he managed to study and get the score, wish we spent more time together, actually didn’t see him after we passed out. Condlence to his family.

    Like

  5. I had the honor of being his classmate in Masters. He is a gem of a person. Extremely smart and quick witted. We shared the same room many evenings along with many other friends. Not a day goes by when I remember the last time I spoke to him in person.

    Reading this article brought in a flood of memories.
    I got into an internship with a small startup in St Louis, MO in Jul 2010. It was a company of 3 people and I was the 3rd entrant. We worked out of the apartment of the CEO. After an incredibly boring one month, the boss asks me if we can rope in another guy like me ( meaning college grad in my branch). Srupen was the first and only name that came to my mind. In a couple of weeks he was the fourth entrant. The boredom vanished almost right away.

    We applied for an internship at a large multinational through college programs. And both got placed in the same team under the same manager. There was a catch – only one of us could join per semester. The gentleman that he was, Srupen asked me when I wanted to join. The idiot and selfish guy that I am (family pressures were a big part of this selfishness), I said I wanted to join in the first semester. He agreed and we were all set. I started the internship from Jan 2011 at the MNC. It would end in June 2011 and Srupen would take my place as the intern from June 2011.

    Our college MST in Rolla, MO is around 2 hrs away from St Louis (where we interned). Each Friday after work we would drive down to Rolla and return on Monday morning. Our pact was that Srupen would drive Friday evenings and I would drive Monday mornings. I protested initially but he said something in his charming convincing manner and I agreed.

    All the time we spent in Srupen’s company, there was never a dull moment. He was a bounty of energy. He managed to stay up to date with a gazillion tv series. He got me hooked up to some of them and sometimes I go back to those episodes we watched while cooking or eating. He knew, it felt, every actress and actress there is. He was no slouch when it came to games.
    On one of the rare occasions I heaved my burly self to play cricket in the ground, I whacked him for a four. It surprised him (given my contours and lack of any skill even a kid of 3 would possess in wielding the bat), but more importantly I was surprised. With renewed grit and this giant shot of adrenaline kicked into me I swayed the bat at this next ball. It touched the ball somewhere closer to the handle and off it went into the air, miles away from the boundary I had my eye on. He swept in like a eagle on its prey and caught the ball. He pointed the ball at me smiled. It was clever display of confidence with a smirk to show me my place in the world of our basketball-turned-cricket court (all in cheerful faith needless to say). When I was crossing him to rest my more than adequately inflated backside into the lush green grass off the court, he said to me with a smile ‘All deliveries are not the same, buddy’.

    There are a million more things I want to say here. His roommates in Rolla would put the Royal library to shame with their endless lists of memories of Srupen.
    Looking back I feel I was honored to spend some time with him. He’ll never be forgotten by me nor anyone else who has come to know him.

    RIP, buddy.

    Like

Leave a comment