Can a Feminist say ‘Behenchod’?

Feminist. The word and it’s connotations have acquired such a contrived meaning today, that I cringe every time I hear the word come up in discussions. Instead of a term that is supposed to denote equality in professional, political, and social matters, the word has come to signify a strange, imaginary sect of women who believe that men are assholes. A woman who smokes and drinks and sleeps with anybody she comes across.

You’ll find many such heated debates on the comments of articles by the Slime of India. Surprisingly, all of these guys will cry hoarse about rapes in the country, demand that the rapists be castrated in public, hanged, or quartered. But ask them about feminism, about equality between men and women, and they launch into a diatribe about western values and aping foreign culture. Equality with women is probably too lofty an idea for Indian men to envisage, and thus this hatred towards the F word.

So much that I hardly bother to correct people’s opinion of it anymore.

I have been a feminist for as long as I can remember. Of course, it is difficult to be a feminist when you live with 1200 other boys, and the only woman you interact with is a septuagenarian Hindi teacher. But my post school years opened my eyes.

I wish I could say that it was due to my family. That my folks were a liberal, forward thinking, set of parents who believed in such ideals. Sadly, that’s not the case.

It really is due to the women in my life. All of them have been fiercely independent women who took no bullshit lying down. Who stood up for what they thought was wrong, who were strong willed and told me off for being patronising and chivalrous. I dare say I learnt more by living with them, than a Masters in Gender Studies could have taught me.

Which then brings me to the topic of swear-words.

Swear words have always been an integral part of any language. In adolescent years, most of us use swear words as a rebellion. Because we were asked not to use them by elders and teachers.

And every time the word was used, there was a sense of rebellion, of adventure. Like when a character says ‘Voldemort’ in the Harry Potter universe.

I have been reasonably good with languages and dialects – managing to pull off a conversation in five languages, and being able to comprehend a few more. And everytime I embark on learning a new language, it is the swearwords that fascinate me.

Swearwords have been in existence as long as language has. Swear words add colour to a language, a sign of comfort between two speakers – for we always use them with our equals (or those under us). Using a language without its swearwords is like adding salt and pepper to Maggi noodles, while discarding the sachet of Magic Masala.

The most colourful usage of swearwords that I witnessed was in my paternal village, Balasore. Transcending lines of gender and race, the lingo is Balasore is uniquely tailored to ensure easy swearing. This is done by simply adding the suffix ‘choda’ to anything. Screwed up while sitting on a chair? You’re a chair-choda. Stepped on a frog? You’re a Bengo-choda.

Every language I set out to learn, I ensure I have a grasp over the swearwords first. But then, there’s the troubling fact that all abuses are centred around women.

Like historical wars (or modern riots, like the one for which our revered Prime Minister was not responsible in any way), the recipients of anger are always women. Subjugating women, attacking them, or comparing a man to a woman, has always been the modus operandi. So a behenchod, or a motherchod is not an innocuous swear word floating about harmlessly, but the remnant of hundreds of years of the patriarchal society we lived in.

I have always wondered how the word motherchod came about. ‘Mother’ being an English word, the right equivalent should have been matruchod, or mamtachod (but more of that on another blog).

So how does one deal with the patriarchal baggage that popular swear words suffer from? Here’s where another line of thought jumps to my defence.

That swear words and their meanings are not cast in stone. They evolve over time, acquiring meanings of their own. The word ‘guy’, which simply denotes a boy/man, began as a derogatory word with references to Guy Fawkes. A few decades ago, using the word ‘hell’ could land you in trouble. Today, English teachers use it when you interrupt the class.

So swearwords aren’t linked either etymologically, or colloquially, to any one, definite meaning. Their meanings take the shape that the users want them to take.

As a mini project of sorts, I have begun to compile a list of gender sensitive swear words that can be used guilt free. I plan to sell them as an iOS app for 20$ and buy a Royal Enfield someday.

But I am a firm believer that the usage of a word consistently, over a long period of time, distorts the meaning of words. It unyokes the words from their violent and problematic pasts.

And yet, like the guests on an Arnab Goswami show, both these lines of thought are too timid to convince me about the value of their statements.

So I’m still confused. What do YOU think?

Can a feminist say ‘Behenchod’??

15 thoughts on “Can a Feminist say ‘Behenchod’?

  1. “Surprisingly, all of these guys will cry hoarse about rapes in the country, demand that the rapists be castrated in public, hanged, or quartered. But ask them about feminism, about equality between men and women, and they launch into a diatribe about western values and aping foreign culture. ”

    A trope which is actually espoused by the so-called ‘champions’ of feminism. It is odd that you only talked about guys (ignoramuses, more like – in the world of ‘feminists’). But going back to the earlier statement, “the word has come to signify a strange, imaginary sect of women who believe that men are assholes” – did you happen to come across any girl who has a convoluted notion about feminism. Or is it just another sanctimonious blog post (among millions) about scoring browny points, and completely ignoring the other half of the obvious scope that takes place in such comments sections?

    Like

    1. Hey man. Thanks for replying!!

      When I said equality, I meant equality. Of course, I’m aware of the other side of the argument. That many ‘champions of feminism’ bash men unabashedly. That male bashing is taken to be feminism. I live on a university campus and am surrounded by such discourse.

      But I chose to put across the other view. I fail to understand why every article needs to throw light upon both sides? Can’t I expect people to be intelligent enough to understand? I’m not passing a legal judgement here, it’s a blog.

      I’m tired of people asking me to ‘tell the other side of the story’. A newspaper gives a balanced opinion. A blog is generally a strong opinion, and not necessarily shows both sides of the story. It is entrusted upon the intelligence of the reader.

      Be that as it may, nice question to ask. And thanks for taking the time out of your day to comment. Have a lovely day! šŸ™‚ On 10 Nov 2014 10:11, “Heartranjan's Blog” wrote:

      >

      Like

      1. I do understand the the ‘limit’ or rather ‘limitless’ ambit of a personal blog. It is just that every time one opens a social media page or other popular media, the views (or rather the perspective tends to be skewed or taken advantage of- be it from men or women, celebrities or bloggers). And since blogs (like these) do attract some audience, some of the (few) posts reinforces such skewed perspectives, especially on the fanatics. And, by ‘fanatics’, I not only mean the pseudo-religious, hypocritical, Indian-culture ‘saviors’; but also the pseudo-liberals with their devil-may-care, smug but ultimately insincere attitudes.

        Anyway, I try to follow your blog whenever possible. So, keep up the good work, and more importantly, the humor – since you have a knack for it.

        Like

        1. Mr Mandal, I get your point. There are few women who use the umbrella of feminism to bash men and there are men who hate women based on their personal experiences. Neither reflects the movement. As a feminist, I love men and their role in balancing the estrogen half of the world. Anyway, this blog piece is the most balanced view I can give you about feminism. Read if you so desire. Peace! http://kismatandkarma.wordpress.com/2013/06/06/the-f-word-misused-expletive-or-molded-euphemism/

          Like

  2. As a feminist, I usually stick with expletives like “bakchod” or “asshole” that are more gender-neutral. Great post btw! And glad you wrote about the realty that the overwhelming majority of expletives are so condescending towards women. If you have some spare time and in need of humor, I wrote a satirical piece on the origins and evolution of words like madarchod and bhenchod last year.
    http://kismatandkarma.wordpress.com/2013/10/05/a-satirical-take-on-the-origins-of-motherf-and-bhench/

    Like

  3. a word means what you want it to mean. hot bitch! can be considered to be a compliment by the recipient in certain circumstances. As a feminist, i can take pride in the insult that gets conveyed by addressing someone’s female relatives. Must mean us men give a lot of respect to them. But the insult felt in such words is not because of our respect for the said relatives, but entirely patriarchal. Going by the dictum of jar-joru-jameen, my women are my property, and your reference to them in an uncouth fashion is like you vandalising my property. Also, Bhenchod, means a person who does it with his said relative, implying he cant convince a woman outside of his family to do it with him.. emasculating him in the process.

    So, as with everything else, this issue too, is ultimately about a dick. That’s what everything in the world is about.

    Also, Madar is mother in persian-urdu language of families. motherland is referred to as madar-e-watan in some urdu songs of the freedom struggle days.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for a thoughtful post…this is something I’ve thought about a lot. As someone who believes that words shouldn’t be thrown around carelessly, I stand firmly on the ‘no way should a feminist use the word ‘behenchod’! side. But I do see where you’re coming from, although its taken me a while.
    That said, I think the usage of such words is problematic. Perhaps when you use it, you use it as a gender-neutral insult free of any connotations. It is doubtful that everyone around you sees it that way. The word ‘behen’, for instance is undeniably female. Therefore when you use the word, voluntarily or involuntarily the hearer may make a connection to females. Then there is also a fact that it is a remnant of the patriarchal society you mention, just like SOB, etc. Being fully aware of how the word came to be, you should consider how (or even whether) to use it.
    I would say personally that it’s better to just avoid some particularly fraught terms. Just my two cents. In case you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m a pretty vociferous feminist :P, although god knows I’m not in the least bit aggressive, and I’m also rather conventional in terms of clothing and tradition.

    Like

  5. Very interesting post Hriday. Some very valid questions raised.
    This is something that used to really bother me as well, in my college days, where you know, these swear words are bandied about at the rate of 10 per minute. Now, although most of the guys didn’t use them ‘maliciously’ and infact many of them didn’t even know their meaning or history, still I can not defend them and strongly think that, for a severely unequal soceity as ours, we shouldn’t be using it, not as a form of mild rebuke either, for it trivializes the inherent misogyny behind it.
    But great post. Sharing it. šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. This is exactly what I feel sometimes. I sometimes think why not feminists use “bhai-chod” (as in just to replace sister and mother by brother and father)? But that hurts so much making me think what exactly the word would mean. I relate such words to myself/my family after taking up a few critical thinking courses and analysing such words. This again leaves us to a situation that you have ended with. What to do? Why should we just let it go?

    Like

Leave a comment