Pop! Goes the bubble.

Back in my childhood, we had an old, black and white television. Konark was the company, and Gitanjali was the brand.

Like a high school romance, the television was not the best around. But it belonged to me, and my heart belonged to it. It had a knob that you could turn to access 12 channels – a cruel mockery that the government only allowed it one. Under the knob, were three buttons – On/Off and Volume, Brightness, and Contrast. It had a red box, but that was all the colour it had.

I was used to it. To its timings, and to its tantrums. I knew what to do if the picture was blurred (run up to the balcony and shoo away the crow on the antenna), and what to do if it rained (pray to God and promise not to think about Juhi Chawla). We were cool friends – me and the television.

So imagine my surprise one day, when I randomly turned the knob, and found there was a second channel slowly appearing on the screen.

DD Metro.

My world opened up. No more did I have to endure the sober, sedated programs on National. This channel looked a lot cooler, the people wore dresses I could see on the streets, and a language I didn’t feel alienated by.

It was on this wonderful channel, DD Metro, that I saw a young girl sitting on a throne.

She was unlike any other actress I had seen. What right did she have to be singing a song if she wasn’t an actress? And what was with those crazy scenes? One moment it was a durbar, the next there was a snake crawling across the floor, then someone doing yoga.

I hated it. But I watched on like a man transfixed.

**************************

The 90’s are often seen as the years when the floodgates were being opened for the rest of the world. But for us who were too young to figure anything out, all the liberalisation and privatisation didn’t make any sense.

Our revolutions happened in our television sets.

Made in India, the song whose audacity I couldn’t take, but whose tunes I couldn’t wish away, was just the beginning. What followed was a hurricane – Baba Sehgal appeared in the Jumpin ad, Daler Mehndi was making the entire country blabber Punjabi, and a young boy with long hair was singing about the pangs of a lonely heart.

Indipop not only changed the way we listened to music. It also changed the way we watched television.

For the first time, there was no heroine gyrating in the rain, or singing out songs of pain about her love. The tone was spunky, the tunes funky. While television was slotted earlier – the mornings and evenings for news, the afternoon for soap operas, Sundays for films – indipop meant you could watch anything you want. And the earth didn’t come crashing down on you if you walked out of the room and came back ten minutes later.

I remember watching television those days with a sense of awe. I never knew what was going to come up. Since these were not films, no one knew the artists, or the genres they were going to play. What resulted was a heady mix of genres and styles.

If there was Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan singing about Lisa Ray in a bad blouse, there was a gawky Shahid Kapoor saving money to buy Hrishita Bhatt a dress. Dooba Dooba had a band that was slowly sinking into water to symbolise that the singer was drowning in her eyes – tacky now, earth shatteringly profound back then.

And Lucky Ali! That man with the husky voice, and dreamy lyrics, and those crazy, beautiful videos that were shot in locations that made our televisions look really posh.

If there was something about Indipop that made it such a rage, it was that it catered to every category. Tunak Tunak Tun would be followed by Tanha Dil, which would be followed by Ab Ke Saawan. My ears and brain had multiple orgasms on a daily basis.

indipop

It also changed the way I listened to music. Belonging to a family that would make a Khap panchayat beam with pride, I had no access to any films or film music. Which meant that I had to wait for someone to get married in my lane so I could listen to songs being played and mug them up. Or go to a friend’s place to watch television or music. Or wait till a kind uncle gave me some money so I could go to a cassette shop.

Oh, those cassette shops!

Side A would have one film, and Side B would have another. You listened to all the songs on one side, and flipped the cassette over. God forbid you left the cassette lying around, and the tape would come out like a snake from Pandora’s Box, and the next few days were spent in screwing the cassette with a Reynold 045 Fine Carbure jammed into it. All this trouble for listening to an Anu Malik song that sounded like two mules mating.

But with Indipop, there was no such trouble. Neelam, or Malaika decided the songs for you, spoke in English, and kept you glued till the song came on. And how they came on!

But obviously, everything couldn’t be so smooth.

For Bollywood, that hydra headed monster was watching. Very soon, it would plan its deadly attack.

**********************

While the Bollywood of the early 90s was an outdated, embarrassingly loud rogue, the Bollywood of the mid and late 90s tried to win back the hearts of the nation.

DDLJ had happened, and India had a hero who did not bash three Pakistanis per second. DDLJ was followed by KKHH, and then DTPH. If the bonfire was slowly dying out, these three films, in one go, put the wood back in Bollywood.

From then on, Bollywood went out of its way to woo the audience everywhere. Songs began to be shot in locations abroad, and the youth reconnected with the films.

Slowly, everybody who was anybody in Indipop started drifting to Bollywood. Shaan, KK, and Sonu Nigam became a part of the Bollywood stable. Baba Sehgal, who had inspired a generation of rappers (even though the elders felt it was gangrap of their music aesthetics), stopped cutting albums.

Hariharan, one half of the beautiful Colonial Cousins, started singing in films. Lucky Ali smoked a lot of pot and moved to New Zealand and married thrice. Palash Sen acted in a film with Sushmita Sen and Daler Mehndi would pave way for his younger brother, someone with such an appreciation of beauty that he had to forcibly kiss Rakhi Sawant at a party.

Slowly but surely, like an octopus patrolling a sea, Bollywood ate up everything that came in its way.

What was a delight on television, slowly became a pain.

Indipop gave way to the Remix Scene. Crappy remakes of crappy songs. With 25 year old girls wearing the clothes of 15 year olds and dancing like 65 year olds.

Magnasound, that record label that started it all, got sued by Asha Bhonsle and filed for bankruptcy. Bollywood started making snazzy videos to entice the youth, who had already been dumbed down when Bournvita Quiz Contest was pulled off air and Derek O Brain went to join Mamta Banerjee’s political party.

Just like that, the dream was shattered.

************************

So today, when I watch a Coke Studio or MTV Unplugged, I watch it with cynicism. I know that the monster is watching too, with bated breath. It just has to stretch its hands out, and the guy will be lost forever – singing songs for 45 year old heroes chasing their daughters’ friends – till there is life.

Music today is film music.

Alisha Chinai is a judge on a fucked up reality show.

Baba Sehgal is the Snake God in a Telugu film called Rudhramadevi.

And people ask me why I hate Bollywood so much.

21 thoughts on “Pop! Goes the bubble.

  1. Brilliant! Fired up my nostalgia, love, hatred, contempt and admiration for the early 90’s, television and indipop. You missed the transition period of pop in early 2000s where Adnan Sami came with his tablas and made Rani Mukherjees and Aditi Govitrikars of the world cry out in pain and made Big B dance to the most weird dance steps ever invented. was also a redifining period, where all the fazing out actresses and the infamous ‘Lal Badshah’ found hope.

    Like

  2. u took me back to my school n early college days whn i used to mug up these songs as if they will come as questions…for all the good bad or ugly reasons those days are the best days of indi pop..till today tanha dil,aankhon mein tera hi chera and a lot more pep me up..may be coz tehy remind me of my days of a carefree life…

    u always took my breath with ur pieces hriday

    Like

  3. And this blog of yours padhte hi I played Made in India on youtube.. what songs.. infact i quite enjoyed some of the remixes.. there was one with Shaan-Sagarika ‘kajra mohabbat wala’.. excellent one 🙂
    Side A-Side B.. haha.. there are so many small things u remember and mention! Fantastic piece Hriday.. 🙂

    Like

  4. Lucky Ali !! — i was smitten by O sanam .. and i remember our music shop guy didn’t even know the name when i asked him first about sunoh cassette.

    Like

  5. What about Bali’s “Tere Bin Zeena Nahi” ANd Nitin’s “Neele Neele Anber Pe”..Even Sonu Nigham’s “Tu kab ye janegi” is not listed……

    Like

    1. Yeah! Those were pretty popular too.

      But I wasnt really making a directory of Indipop songs. Just a few that I connected with. And that was kind of the point of the article, that there was something in it for everyone!

      On 18 June 2013 09:24, Heartranjan's Blog

      Like

      1. ha ha..You’re right…But reading your blog made me remember those days and also the DD Metro serial “Ek se Badhkar Ek”…Those were the best days of my life 😀

        Like

  6. you forgot about the all girl band VIVA!! they were the first official POP-girl-band…they had some really good songs too…

    Like

  7. Nice one… I know you are not making a directory… but it brought back memories among others… of Apache Indian… (a lot us would pronounce that as Apake at that time)…. and one song wonder…Style Bhai… “You say yo… I say namaste” …..

    Like

  8. This made me feel very, very nostalgic. Still love Lucky Ali songs, and O Sanam makes me feel very nostalgic. I wish he was still making music, why did he toss off to New Zealand? 😦

    And I had forgotten about Dooba Dooba! That video was so cool. You would never get that in Indipop anymore, because that time has gone.

    Imagine how different Indipop would have been if Bollywood hadn’t swallowed it up. We might have had more album/artist based music industry, with a ton of music genres, rather than this constant stream of Salman Khan crap. Now any bands/artists are left to fight it out with very tiny indie labels, and barely any of that music is acknowledged.

    But thanks so much fro writing this post. No one puts it down in writing quite like you. Made me miss my childhood.

    Like

  9. Yeah! That whole 1990s was really a golden era of Indipop music.. Junoon’s Sayonee, (Euphoria) Palash Sen’s Dhoom Pichak Dhoom, Shyamak Davar’s Jaane Kisne, Silk Route’s Boondein, Sonu Nigam’s Tu kab ye janegi, Nusrat fatah Ali Khan’s Afreen. Kamaal khan’s Oh Oh Jaane Jana, Shaan’s tanha Dil, Stereo nation’s Pyar ho gaya and Bali Brahmbatt’s Tere bin jeena nahi…..each and every song still reverberate in my ears..Thanks to Youtube. we can still listen to these wonderful songs.
    And yes, how can i forger that Side A and side B messup. I always wished there should be a button to replay the song of my choice without rewinding it. Now, with over 1000s of songs in the playlist, still that walkman and recorded cassette makes me nostalgic.

    Like

  10. Guess those were the days…sigh! Not to forget the times when politicians passed away and we were made to listen to Indian classical music, ofcourse for the want of nothing better to watch. But I must admit my GK about Indian classical music increased in leaps and bounds. Unlike today’s youngsters who think Ustad Amjad Ali Khan was a boxer, and Bismillah Khan was a Moslem prophet, I knew enough to take part in school quiz competitions, without embarrassing myself.

    Like

Leave a comment