Fart of Living

His Holiness Sri Sri Sri Ravi Shankar performed an intricate yogic feat last month. It is called ‘putting your foot in your mouth‘, and the results make you transform into a douchebag in everyone’s eyes.

With all the wisdom he has acquired over the years, the revered Gurudev had this to say about our education system – “Government should not run any school. It is often found that boys who studied in government schools go into Naxalism and violence.”

This is such Bull Bull Bull Shit, that it makes you wonder if the Art of Living has replaced the more important Art of Thinking. Or the Art of Making Sense. Someone should start a course in the Art of Shutting the Fuck Up.

As it is, the schools in Naxal areas bear the brunt of the armed struggle. Schools are recognised by the Maoists as government buildings and blown up. The ones that exist have been taken up as ‘camps’ by the government’s armed forces, and are used as bunkers. The classes have been called off, and most of the children in Naxal-hit areas do not get a minimum education.

The solution, quite clearly, lies in privatising these schools. So that you can have an Oxbridge International School in the jungles, where tribal children pay exorbitant fees to learn English nursery rhymes that they have no connection to. Probably throw in a few meditation classes too, you know, to deal with ‘individual stress’. The sheer brilliance of it all!

Sri Sri Sri Ravi Shankar lives in the US, his followers are people like Bill Clinton. He also appears on a show on MTV in the US. His website claims his organisation works on issues like ‘individual stress, societal problems, and violence’. Consider me hollow and unintelligent, but I can never understand spiritual teachings.

Imagine there is an Indian man who has no clue what is happening to him, his life, his country, the society, or his job. He goes to Ravi Shankar for help. And Ravi Shankar says this, “Beta, truth is spherical, rather than linear, so it has to be contradictory.” (An actual line!)

What on earth is that man going to understand? He will obviously run out of the hall, screaming ‘Baba ki jai’. I always thought this is the case with most followers of Babas. We are too doubtful of ourselves to question anyone, so we accept someone else’s notion of the truth, and celebrate it.

But His Holiness is more than just a spiritual guru. He has often times offered to butt into national politics. Like the time when he offered to negotiate with the Naxals for peace. How, exactly? You don’t live in the country, you don’t know the local language. What are you going to talk about? Teach them meditation? If they have their way, His Holiness would be forced into a state of permanent pranayam – with an infinite gap between Anulom and Vilom.

I remember a friend suggesting I join an Art of Living course. Apparently, I had to cough up 600 rupees for the course. Why? ‘The money goes to the many NGOs that the Ashram runs’. But isn’t that unfair, I asked. ‘What happens if a man cannot afford 600 rupees. Doesn’t he have a right to understand the art of living. Is this art (like most art today) only to be understood and consumed by the rich?’

‘It’s not like that. In poor places, only 400 is charged from people’.

And what do these charitable institutions do? Distribute food, books, relief during calamities? No. They take meditation classes, relieve the world of ‘stress’.

The problem, dear Guruji, is that we are Indians. We are grappling with food, clothing, and shelter. You can keep your tripe about individual stress to yourself, we’ll deal with it later.

For most Indians, it a ‘War of Living’. An intricate art of surviving, competing, and existing.

You can peddle your Art to the foreigners who come to India looking for spiritual nirvana on top of an elephant while a snake charmer is playing his tunes.

I’m sure they’ll lap it up.

12 thoughts on “Fart of Living

  1. ” He will obviously run out of the hall, screaming ‘Baba ki jai’. I always thought this is the case with most followers of Babas.”
    You obviously mean your SaiBaba also,rite??

    Like

  2. You said it yourself- You dont understand spirituality or Dharma.
    I am not a follower of Sri Sri, or a practition of Dhyana or Aasana, but I have worked with him on issues, ranging from Kashmir to Naxalism. He has been an asset and a smart geopolitical thinker. Thats all I can say.

    Like

  3. Why do you blabber so much without getting your facts corrected. Try to do some research before you write anything. You are putting a wrong impression about the person in people’s minds. Its true that art of living charges money for it’s courses, but if you check out the rates, they are way less, 2x-3x less for the poor people. Further, the institution has been actively involved with weaker sections of the society. They’ve started a school in Dharavi and it provides free education to the slum-dwellers. Dafuq do you know. They’ve been involved in providing free meditation activities in prisons. etc etc.

    One incorrect statement and people like you start totally messing up with the person. If you so interested in hurling bull-shit, why not choose politicians. I’m sure you’ll find plenty targets.

    Like

  4. I have been going through almost every post by you(yeah, its perfectly alright if you think I am jobless). But this is the first article where I found negative comments. And I find them ridiculous, I agree to most of what you said. But, it just makes me believe that as a nation we revere our heroes and by any cost we can’t listen anything bad about them. We are literally narrow minded people and cannot listen to any other opinion other then what we believe in.

    Like

  5. to whomsoever it may concern , i had done the art of living course about 3 years back …. A youth oriented course named Yes+ .. Im not a much of a believer , but this course has helped me a lot in my life in the past three years … We , the AOL volunteers in trivandrum are the proud sponsors of 4 orphanages in the city . Not a single ruppee is through any donations or sponsorships , but from the money collected from the courses . The art of living is one of the largest volunteer based organisation in the world …. And people from more than 150 countries have had benefits from sri sri ravi shankar … So , please do not try to find faults about something you have not experienced.. And don’t go bitching about people without getting your facts in place , sri sri does not live in the US … I am a huge fan of your blog and shall continue to follow it , but please try not to become a typical indian atheist …. I dare you to do the course ( i shall pay for it ) .. I guarantee that you shall have a change in opinion after the course

    from a huge fan of your blog

    Like

  6. I have to say that I think this is a terrible post. Not only does it sound opinionated and arrogant, it is uniformed and smug. I have liked some of your posts, and I do agree with you on some things. You are of course allowed to have any opinion you please and state it any way you want, but I found this blatantly offensive. I am not deeply into Art of Living, but I have done one basic course, and I found it quite decent, even if it wasn’t life changing. As for Sri Sri Sri Ravishankar, I have the utmost respect for the man (even if I don’t understand why there are three Sris before the name), and the single statement that you have mentioned here as the basis for this tirade would not change my opinion even if I did consider it naive or ridiculous.

    Like

  7. I really enjoy your blog, but this is the first time i felt you have no idea what you are talking about. Art of Living has helped a lot of people in different ways that you’re clearly unaware of. You should have researched a bit more before writing this. Of course you have a right to your opinion but in this case you hardly know anything. Generally when you trash people of views you have a logic behind it, but this article as an example of sheer ignorance. I Expected better from you!!!

    Like

    1. Ouch. I’m sorry you didn’t like the post.

      But in my defence, you missed the point. I do not deny that he’s helped a lot of people. That’s the crux of any religious organisation. Even Asaram had many schools and service organisations. Even madrasas engage in philanthropic activities.

      My problem is when these religious leaders begin to enter the political discourse. I’m not denying that he’s done good for people. My grudge is his commenting on politics – a field he has no experience in, and going by his comment, not much of a knack for.

      Religion and politics cannot be mixed. Look at what has happened to countries where religion and politics are practiced together. That was my point.

      But thanks for the comment. Please feel free to comment. Have a lovely day. On 12 Feb 2015 16:20, “Heartranjan's Blog” wrote:

      >

      Like

Leave a comment