Spare the rod, save a child

A few five year olds are waiting for their class to begin. They are chanting the class prayer before the period starts, and the teacher is lighting an agarbathi for the alter. Suddenly, the teacher notices that one of the kids in the first row opens one eye to look around. Immediately, the agarbathi is poked into his cheek. The child is scarred for life and years later, no one tells believes him when he says that it is actually a small dimple!

Like most of my generation, getting punished was a part and parcel of education. More so in my case as I studied in a spiritual school. Very early in life, we were taught about good and bad. About rewards in heaven and punishments in hell.

So when there is a lot of debate on the recent suicide committed by a child at a school in Kolkata, I was talking about it with people around me. My sister used to go to a tuition master and he was popular among parents because he used to hit his students. He used to go to Puri once in a while so he could a special variety of thin canes that were very effective. The parents would ask the teacher to resort to force if the student was lagging.

It worked for us. We listened to what the teacher had to say, did our homework in time. We thought thrice before breaking a rule, and had immense respect (and fear) for our teachers.

Look at the other extreme of the spectrum – the system of education in other countries, like the US. There, the teacher cannot touch the students. The standard of education is much lower than the standard in India. The children are worse behaved, and there have been numerous instances when children carry guns to school and begin shooting people.

Are we better off? Is it because we were scared of our teachers and this fear helped us in not committing mistakes? Most of the elders I have spoken to feel that this is indeed the case. One teacher also said that it is easy for us to sit and discuss morality in our homes, but a teacher who has to control a set of 35 young imps running about here and there, cannot do it by cajoling and coaxing.

However, there is a thin line between what is acceptable and what is ethical. Just because it is common does not mean that it is right.

Twisting a child’s ears, or rapping him on the knuckle might seem alright once in a while. But for a child who is not good at studies, it happens everyday, in every period. Not only is his self-esteem at its lowest because of the incessant pressure put on him by his parents, teachers, and peers, the beating adds to his complex.

And we are talking about children who are about ten years old. An age where academic proficiency does not mean success in life, and failure does not mean a child is doomed. Most of the time, the children who are hit are weak in studies. They are the silent, introvert children who are also bullied in class. The stronger, more popular children think that since the teachers are hitting them, it must be alright for them to do so too. The child gets drawn into a shell, and before he has even matured, he has become a shy, reserved young man.

Also, we have grown up in cities and towns, where we had to go to school no matter how strict the teacher was. But in rural areas, if the teacher hits the students too much, the child drops out of school. Is it really the way this is to be done?

If we think about our school days, each of us will remember this one teacher who was the most loved among the students. She was kind (and mostly taught English), she never hit anyone, and yet everyone listened to her when she spoke. We had one teacher like that. Her name was Loka mam.

Loka mam was my first English teacher. She never shouted at anyone, leave alone hitting. She was kind, always smiling, and always spent more time with the weaker children, rather than boost the ego of the children good at studies. If a child wasnt great at studies, but had a good handwriting, she would point it out to the entire class. She had a large repertoire of stories, and in free classes, we would ask her to tell us those stories.

She taught me in class 1, and then again in class 5. By then, I had developed a reputation of being a pest. But I was good at English and was developing an interest in the subject. Loka mam did encourage me in class. She introduced me to crosswords, and suggested books I could read during holidays. But she never tolerated my indiscipline. I remember one incident when I was caught in a huge fiasco and her class was going on when I was called to the Principal’s room. After her class, she came to ask what had happened. When I told her, she just looked at me, and I could see her disappointment. Since then, it was the look on her face that made me feel guilty. I made it a point to behave in her class, and generally avoided getting into trouble when she was around.

I have seen many teachers since and none of them, no matter how strict they were, never seemed to have as much control over the class as her. I sometimes think what was it that made all of us listen to her. We were never scared of her, she seemed incapable of hitting anyone. Why then did we behave? Why was English our favourite subject?

It was because with her, we saw that she wanted to teach us. She loved talking to each and every student, she wanted each and every child to do well. Children can be called immature, but even the most heartless child would not want to trouble such a person.

So do we really need caning?

12 thoughts on “Spare the rod, save a child

    1. I don’t see how it can be biased when I haven’t taken a stance at all in the first place. I am just advocating that corporal punishment be done away with. This (as I see it) cannot be opposed to any person. But I’d still look forward to your side of the story. Though I’d love it if you could have the debate here, rather than on gtalk. But anyway, your wish.

      Like

      1. I realize this comment is very very very late in the day. However, the issue at hand is still relevant.

        Corporal punishment (within reasonable boundaries, of course) should not be done away with. It should be reserved for the rarest of rare cases, like capital punishment.

        I am from Kolkata and am well acquainted with the school, the student and the teacher involved in the incident cited. Well acquainted, not in the sense that I have heard vaguely of it, but in the sense that I have played ‘hand-cricket’ with the teacher in question, in the premises of the school in question.

        I cannot certifiably prove the statistics, but I can’t imagine that for every 50 kids that are caned, more than 1, will suffer major psychological/physical damage. For the 1 kid that may suffer, it only seems plausible that he/she may not be as ‘mentally strong’ (a horrible term, I know, but I can’t think of a better term at this moment) as most kids and will subsequently suffer the psychological damage eventually in his/her life, even if he is never ever caned.

        It is much more plausible that, for every 50 kids that are NOT caned – around 10 will grow up to be counted amongst the Manu Sharmas of the world.

        Like

  1. What it it with English teachers… They are the best.. Is it the literature or the poems or the dramas they have to read during their school/college times?

    Btw, the worst are the maths teachers.. Hands Down!!

    Like

  2. Thanks Hriday for writing this blog.
    It is a wonderful opportunity for me to remember her and thank her. I was one such guy who was classified “notorious” at school. Punishments for me were a daily activity. Getting beaten up,ear twist, fingers screwed, kneeling down outside the class entire day were all small things. I have faced the worst punishments at school(hriday would know it better). Due to this I was always neglected. I gradually lost interest in studies and became a back bencher. Loka mam was an angel at school. She used to be the only teacher whom I used to like or obey. She used to show a lot of affection and care for students who were poor in studies. Daily I used to search the calendar for her period. It was like a total refresh listening to her class. She used to always encourage the poor students. I remember during the exams when it was difficult for me to remember the answers she drew them on the black board and helped me remember them. She was more than just a teacher. Thank you mam, Its all because of you that I am able to write and speak today.

    Like

  3. look at the rowdy students now a days ……they have no respect for their teachers and parents .all due to lack of fear ….they think that no one can do anything to them …..they use filthy language openly ……. all they need is a good spanking .. that should make them ok again ………

    Like

  4. I can’t believe I’m writing this on the internet; but whatever here goes…
    I found this comment by @ aynsleymoses very interesting
    “For the 1 kid that may suffer, it only seems plausible that he/she may not be as ‘mentally strong’ (a horrible term, I know…) as most kids and will subsequently suffer the psychological damage eventually in his/her life, even if he is never ever caned.”
    I agree it’s a horrible term, but not because it’s insensitive, but rather because it’s patently inaccurate.
    You see I was once that weakling. My inherent weakness emanated from a congenital anxiety disorder which could not withstand the panacea of punishments doled out to me in the name of love and concern. There was lot of love and concern in the air because I was getting my ass kicked sideways from the age of 4.5. But by the time I turned 13 everyone knew the “bitter truth”- that some children are just duds. This led to me being associated with terms like “duffer” behind my parents’ back and phrases like “your son has a lot of potential” to their faces. My parents of course didn’t buy into any of this shit and continued to express their explosive love for me at home. Around this time I also became a legend after setting a series of records for the lowest scores ever achieved on regional exams. After this all my friends deserted me overnight as instructed by their concerned and loving parents. By then I had had enough and being “mentally weak” I designed an elaborate scheme to put myself out of my misery. Unfortunately I didn’t have the training at the time to pull off such an intricate feat. This turned out to be my best failure.
    As luck would have it I moved to a completely different environment where things like blatantly fucking obvious disorders were immediately recognized and dealt with. On the stigma scale “mental illness” was even worse than “duffer”, but luckily my utter lack of self-esteem didn’t stand in the way of what I thought at the time was more humiliation.
    The peculiar thing however was that in a matter of 5 months of treatment I experienced a “rebirth”. Since then I have gone on pile on degrees and scholarships and awards and all those other things you get fancy certificates for (which most of my colleagues laughably mount on their office walls like trophies). Funnily enough, turns out my academic prowess lay in the very subjects I used to bomb.
    I’m not a parent (as my mother never fails to remind me), but as an adult in my 30s who is trained in the science of human physiology including child development I had a few realizations:
    1) The judgment of inherent “weakness” and “intelligence” in children is a dicey venture. After having failed to respond to a decade of ass kicking, a mentally weak dim child cannot spontaneously transform into a self-assured and strong “high achiever” in a matter of five months. My anxiety disorder was intrinsic, but everything else that led to my “mentally weak” persona was a product of my environment. I was “weak” because the adults around me convinced me so, and honestly I didn’t want to disappoint them and so I played the part (fucked up but true).
    2) When adults resort to physical violence it is generally due to the inability to handle stress, frustration and errant emotions, not love or concern. This as irony would have this is a display of true weakness. Mentally strong adults expend their energy in finding solutions to unconventional problems by daring to pursue unorthodox measures.
    3) Children aren’t as clueless as we think, they have incredible insight and instincts; but these only come in handy when backed up by self-confidence. This concept of unquestioned respect for elders/ teachers/ etc. in the name of culture is horseshit. Before one goes around indiscriminately doling out respect like handjobs at a seedy strip club they first have to develop respect for themselves. After all as grownups we know that only some adults irrespective of their education or social status deserve trust and respect.
    4) The cohort of “dummies” I belonged to was always the same from year to year. I turned into a suicidal introvert, but many others became rowdies who didn’t give a fuck. I do not know what happened to them.

    Like

Leave a comment