BAD HAIR DAYS?? Not Anymore


Someone once said that we get the politicians we deserve.He forgot to mention we also get the barbers we deserve. Barbers set low standards for themselves and then consistently outsurpass themselves.

I have had some bad experience with barbers. And then some more.The problem with barbers is that you have to convey exactly what you want, otherwise you take what he gives you.

I have always had long hair. I don’t know why. I mean long hair. If you kept it in front of my face, it used to reach my mouth. In 2003, when Tere Naam released, I even had my hair like that for a few months. I also got into crazy pacts with my friends to cut my hair once a year with them.

The result was that I always had a large mop of hair in front of my eyes.

For 6 years, I tolerated taunts ( Girls telling me “Tere baal mere se lambe hai ” ), sarcasm ( My dad – “This hairstyle was very popular in the 70’s…. like Shashi Kapoor and all”) and dirty looks ( my maid and all the shopkeepers I used to buy hairbands from).

I had to use lots of hairgel and shampoos and conditioners. And my right hand was always pushing the hair from the front of my eyes and keeping it behind the ear ( It’s so girlish I am squirming even while writing about it ). Whenever I got wet in the rain, it inevitably meant cold and headaches.

On Sunday morning , I woke up and realised I was stupid. I had to get a hair-cut.

Coming back to barbers, there are 2 kinds : The foolish ones and the Absolute morons.

Since I keep on changing my barbers, I hav seen the entire range from absurd to asinine. There was this one guy who would ask me again and agian how exactly he should cut every part. And when he was done, I realised he had done whatever the hell he wanted to my hair. And there was this other guy who always sang a lot while cutting my hair. Imagine, a guy has a blade on your neck and he’s singing “Main hoon Don..” !!

The worst part is, since I have to take off my specs, I can’t even monitor how he’s cutting it. I was completely at the barber’s mercy.

This time I found a salon called ”Curl Up ‘n’ Dye”. I wanted to just check out the place because I was intriuged by the name. It was pretty decent.

My instructions were precise : “You see all this hair? Chop it all off. Please don’t make me look stupid”. He switched on the music system and a song started playing. “Main duniya bhula doonga…”

After he was done, I looked into the mirror and I couldn’t recognise myself. I ran my hand over my head. This felt good.

So how did he cut my hair ? I don’t know. I am enjoying the freedom right now.

But so that you get a brief idea, I will post some of the opinions ( with my comments) here for you.

Akka : It’s such a relief to see you like this.You look like a kid (Thanks, that’s so touching !!!)

Shruti :”Send me a pic…(I’ll see)…Nautanki mat kar, and send me a pic”

Pooja : “Ab insaan ki tarah lag raha hai”.(“What was I with long hair then?Greek God?)

Sarmistha : “Hehehe..hehe…(*#@*#!…)

Amamma : “He cut a little more than required. Your grandfather had long hair, you know. But
anyway, this is also nice”(She can never find any flaw in me)

Prashant : “Finally, dude.Congrats. But its like a part of you is missing. I have always seen you
with lots of hair.

Anil : “He should have cut a little lesser. You almost look stupid, man.”(If you weren’t so
tall, I’d have bashed you up

The Barber: “Mast hai saab, ekdum hero.”(I was speechless, didn’t know what to say!)

I don’t know whose opinion to believe.

But anyway, if you still have long hair, get a life. (And then a haircut)
?

Leave a comment